My very first blog post. My very first blog. The pressure is on. Am I interesting enough? Does anyone care what my thoughts are?

I am not a Lit major. I don’t pick apart stories. I don’t analyze how the antagonist affects the underlying mood of the novel. I willingly read outside my comfort zone. How will I know if I like something or not if I don’t try it? That’s like refusing to eat the fuzzy brown fruit because I just know I won’t like it.

I read for self-improvement. I enjoy expanding my understanding and appreciation of classics from literary experts, and how to manage depression from certified professionals. I read for entertainment. I like to share the ride an author has laid out before me. I want to saddle a dragon and soar beneath a sky filled with three moons. I read for knowledge. I love being able to go online and read newspapers from the 1700s. Did you know that while Benjamin Franklin was in England, he smacked someone with his cane because he was offended by what the gentleman he was with expressed? I appreciate being able to read an autobiography about someone who lived through the same war as my father. I read to diversify my cultural understanding. I can only hope I become more well-rounded after completing my goal to read around the world.

That being said, this blog is my outlet for expressing my thoughts and opinions on books which happen to come my way. I find my reading material on Amazon, used book stores, libraries, and Goodreads, to name a few. I would love to hear some suggestions. Contact me if you have a book you would like me to review.