HeartsFuriesThis beautifully written book is about the life of uncertainty. The world is full of hypocrites. Cyril’s first experience was before he was even born. His unwed 16-year-old mother was not only cast out of church by a hypocrite, but thrown out of town and disowned by her entire family and friends.

Forced into a world of uncertainty, Cyril’s mother set out to create a new life in Dublin. Her experiences taught her to stand up for what was right. She was never again to be intimidated.

As Cyril grew up, he learned he was different than other boys. He knew he had to hide his “condition” for fear of being imprisoned. We follow Cyril as he tries to navigate his way through life. He has come to terms with who he is, but wavers between being true to himself or hiding from the world in a lie.

I loved the premise of this story. I smirked at all the hypocrisy. I felt sad for Cyril, but I just couldn’t get engrossed in the book. I don’t know why. This novel has received many rave reviews. I plan on rereading it again in a few months. Maybe I just didn’t start it in the right mind-set.

Up next… A Sibling’s Dilemma