Wait, what?? My head is spinning. What’s going on with Capt. St James??? Does Blaze make a reappearance in the second half of the book??

I’m not in the least bit surprised by how much I’m loving this book. Honestly, the cover drew me in. I had absolutely no idea what this book was about when I incessantly bugged the author. I just knew I had to have it.

Nights Arose is the perfect melting pot of characters. The heroine is mystical. The demons are deceitful. The mentor in young Rosie’s life is full of surprises, the pirates and privateers are, too. Some of the boys are friends, while others are tormenters. And you would think the Vicar’s wife should be demure and pious. At least Arose’s father and uncle appear to be normal human beings.

As amazing as the story line is, what is truly captivating are the descriptions. The author is a master of the English language. She paints such detail I cannot help but become one with Arose. I could see the monsters in the swamp as if I was there. I am still not sure if they were real or if Arose imagined them into reality. I felt the smugness after the incident with the unfamiliar brothers. She left them a mess.

There is some creepiness going on at the plantation. Is this where the battle of Good vs Evil takes place? I can’t wait to see what happens!!! I’m rooting for Arose!!

